Society of Women Engineers Region E Blog

East Coast: we have the most!

Governor’s Update!

Leave a comment

Hello everyone, and welcome to a new year! It’s hard to believe how quickly the summer has gone by and that a new school year is already beginning. Since this is my first posting as Governor, I wanted to take this chance to briefly introduce myself. My name is Colleen Layman and I have been a SWE member for 10 years now, in three different professional sections. Currently, I am a member of the Baltimore-Washington section and I work at Bechtel Power Corporation in Frederick, Maryland as the Manager of Water Treatment Engineering.

This year I’m really looking forward to serving all of you as Region E Governor and continuing to work with the wonderful group of women engineers and engineering students that I have met in the Mid-Atlantic Region.  SWE is truly a powerful organization that provides many benefits and opportunities to its members – friendships, mentors, a place to learn and grow, fullfilling outreach opportunities, and much much more.  But like all organizations, it ia truly a reflection of its members and your ideas and efforts are what make SWE strong and keep i growing and thriving.  So feel free to email me (governor-e@swe.org) your ideas on how we can improve our Region, information on events that your section is hosting or attending, or any other items that your wish to share.  I look forward to hearing from you and talking with as many of you as I can.  Best wishes for the new year!

Colleen Layman

Region E Governor FY10-FY11

Leave a Reply

