Society of Women Engineers Region E Blog

East Coast: we have the most!

Getting to Know You: FY14 Region E RCR/RCCE Coordinator-Elect

Leave a comment

Thanks for tuning into the latest edition of the “Getting to Know You” column! This monthly series features one of Region E’s FY14 leaders so you have a chance to “meet” her, hear about her SWE career path, and learn a fun fact or two by the end!

sarvenaz_headshot

This month, you’ll hear from Sarvenaz Laussermair, the FY14 RCR/RCCE Coordinator-Elect.

1) When did you begin your SWE career?

I graduated from the University of Florida (UF) in the Spring of 2013 with a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science Engineering. SWE was the first society I became involved with at UF as a freshman, and it is the one I am most passionate about today.

I became the Athletic Director of UF’s section as a freshman and immediately fell in love with the camaraderie and opportunities that the society offered. I was elected to be the Internal Vice President my sophomore year, and collectively helped create one of their most popular annual traditions, the Mr. Engineer Pageant. I was chapter president during my junior year, where my board ultimately doubled active membership and won the Outstanding Collegiate Section award at the 2012 annual SWE conference. I then went on to represent the collegiate members as one of the Region D RCRs.

2) Explain a little bit about your current SWE position(s).

Currently I am the RCR/RCCE Coordinator-Elect, a CLCC member, and a member of the Tampa Bay SWE section. I am very grateful to have become involved with SWE and for the personal growth that it has fostered.

3) What role have you taken on post-college?

As a professional, I am in the Emerging Leaders Program at Nielsen located in Tampa. My current role is as a Project Manager in the Engineering Service Delivery division.

4) What does SWE mean to you?

SWE means so much to me because I believe in everything that it stands for. When I first joined as a freshman, I didn’t have a clue what to expect from my engineering major. SWE helped guide and support me from the beginning, and encouraged me to do the same when I gained more experience and confidence throughout the years. The professional development, networking, and outreach are some of my favorite aspects of SWE, and it is so inspiring to be surrounded by such a diverse, passionate community.

Leave a Reply

