Society of Women Engineers Region E Blog

East Coast: we have the most!

Getting to Know You: FY14 Region E Lieutenant Governor

Leave a comment

Thanks for tuning into the latest edition of the “Getting to Know You” column! This monthly series features one of Region E’s FY14 leaders so you have a chance to “meet” her, hear about her SWE career path, and learn a fun fact or two by the end!

libby

This month, you’ll hear from Libby Taylor, our current Lieutenant Governor!

1) When did you begin your SWE career?

I began my SWE career as a collegiate at Carnegie Mellon University (over 10 years ago). My friend Arthi and I went to our first meeting together our freshman year and senior year she was president and I was VP.

2) Explain a little bit about your current SWE position(s).

Region Lt. Governor is a one year role and is a member of the region leadership team. I’m a non-voting member but attend all region council calls and leadership summits and actively support our region governor (Alexis McKittrick). My main role as Lt. Governor for Region E is to help facilitate our Region Collegiate Team (RCT). The role of the RCT is to help support our collegiate members through one major initiative a year and provide a link between our professional and collegiate sections. Our membership includes our Region Collegiate Representatives, Region Collegiate Senators, RCCE, 8 Region E SWEFLs, our CLCC’s and our Region Governor. I’m also the sponsorship co-chair for our upcoming region conference and working hard with my team to ensure we have an awesome career fair for our collegiate members!!

3) What does SWE mean to you?

SWE has been my main connection to my engineering education as a way to help encourage others to consider the path that I took. I’m not techncially doing engineering work in my professional career now, but SWE has been another venue where I’ve been able to develop my skills as a leader with other fantastic women and men that want to support women in engineering.

4) What advice would you give to people just starting their SWE careers?

We are a supportive bunch and willing to help you make your goals reality – don’t be afraid to apply for a role you think you might not get – just getting your name out there can do wonders for letting people know that you want to take the next step! We are so dependent on volunteers to make us successful – whether it’s spending an hour at an outreach event or volunteering your time in a leadership role within SWE. We need your help 🙂

5) What is the first thing you notice about a person?

Whether they’re friendly and smile back at me when we meet for the first time.

6) If money was no object, what would you be doing right now?

Probably surfing in Costa Rica (while my husband enjoys a pina colada on the beach) or learning lots of different languages (so I know how to order ice cream anywhere I go)!

Leave a Reply

