Society of Women Engineers Region E Blog

East Coast: we have the most!

Getting to Know You: FY14 Region E Treasurer

Leave a comment

Thanks for tuning into the latest edition of the “Getting to Know You” column! This monthly series features one of Region E’s FY14 leaders so you have a chance to “meet” her, hear about her SWE career path, and learn a fun fact or two by the end!

This month, you’ll hear from Marge Inden, our Region’s Treasurer!

Siddika and Marge at shirt table (1)

Marge (right) with past SWE President Siddika Demir at Region E Boutique

1) When did you begin your SWE career?

I joined SWE in 1977 as a freshman at Columbia University.  Back then, Columbia College was all-male.  So there were very few women on campus – the Barnard students did not spend much time on our side of Broadway in their first year, and I wanted female friends.  Ever since then, SWE has been an important part of my life.

2) Explain a little bit about your current SWE position(s).

I am currently serving the Region as Treasurer.  That role is probably self-explanatory!  It’s an important job, and I’m pleased to be able to meet so many fantastic people who are involved with our Region.  I am also a member of SWE’s Board of Trustees.  I’ve served since the 90s, and I am now the Chair of the Board of Trustees.  We are 6 elected SWE members who manage the endowed funds that provide some of SWE’s scholarships, awards, and general support.  We also manage the assets in the Reserve Fund.  Because I have an investment background this has been a very good fit for me.  We are always looking for members with some investment knowledge who may be interested in the Board of Trustees.

3) What does SWE mean to you?

SWE has meant many things to me.  It’s a professional development network, a social network, and an important cause!  I cannot imagine how much I would have missed had I not been involved in SWE for all these years.

4) What advice would you give to people just starting their SWE careers?

Say yes.  Take on a position, and do it well.  Don’t expect to start at the top.  Find a good mentor.

5) What is the first thing you notice about a person?

Their facial expression.  Do they look happy?  Worried?  Tired?  Upset?  Bored?  You can say the right words, but without the right expression I won’t believe you.

6) If money was no object, what would you be doing right now?

Well, I’d probably quit my job, but I would surely still be involved in SWE!

Leave a Reply

